56 UK parliamentarians call for UK Government to ban violent Israeli settlers and those who incite them, from entry to the UK

56 UK Parliamentarians from all political parties have written to both the Foreign Secretary Rt Hon. Lord David Cameron and the Home Secretary Rt Hon. James Cleverly MP, calling for the UK Government to ban violent Israeli settlers who commit or incite crimes of violence and intimidation against Palestinians in the occupied West Bank. Such a decision would follow an announcement from the US Administration. 


Rt Hon Lord Cameron, 

Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs

Rt Hon James Cleverly MP, 

Secretary of State for the Home Department


13 December 2023

Ban violent Israeli settlers and those who incite them from entry into the UK

Following recent constructive exchanges in the House of Commons, we write to ask that Israeli settlers who commit or incite crimes of violence and intimidation against Palestinians in the West Bank should be barred from entry into the United Kingdom. There is good British precedent for such action. We believe that the case for British Government action is very strong.

The US Administration has announced that it is banning entry to the USA by violent Israeli settlers it has identified. If the US has determined that these individuals are dangerous, surely our Government should do likewise and inform our European partners, urging them to take parallel action. 

Israel, as the occupying power in East Jerusalem, the rest of the West Bank and Gaza, has the sole responsibility for controlling the settlers, whose presence on occupied Palestinian land is itself illegal under international law. We express our grave concern not only that the Israeli army and police are ordered to protect the settlers only, and not the Palestinian people living under occupation, but that they have also been assisting Israeli settlers in attacks on Palestinian communities. All of this is directly contrary to the Fourth Geneva Convention of 1949.

In contrast to the way in which Israeli settlers enjoy a climate of impunity, the Israeli authorities have arrested over 3,000 West Bank Palestinians since the appalling Hamas attack of 7 October. This is often in the most arbitrary manner and without charge. One example among many is the case of Anas Abu Srour, arrested on 28 November and sentenced to six months’ administrative detention without charge or trial. He is the Executive Director of the Aida Youth Centre in the Aida Refugee Camp, Bethlehem. To our knowledge, he has committed no offence. We ask you to instruct HM Embassy Tel Aviv to raise his and other cases with the Israeli authorities as a matter of urgency. The Israeli law under which he is in administrative detention is in large part a restatement of Britain’s Palestine Mandate Defence (Emergency) Regulations, for which Britain carries responsibility.

We welcome the Government’s contributions to the essential work of the West Bank Protection Consortium – but the Consortium needs additional resources from Britain to address the massive increase in settler violence and intimidation. It also needs robust, public Ministerial support for its work – quiet diplomacy having proved ineffective. 

We are glad that as Foreign Secretary you have expressed your concern to the Israeli Government over their conduct of the occupation in the West Bank – and that the present Home Secretary made clear that our Government will not deal with Itamar Ben Gvir. 

But expressing concern is not enough; Israel needs to heed your words or face serious consequences for its consistent failure to adhere to the international laws and conventions which it has signed and ratified. 

A full list of signatories can be found at the bottom of this page. 

Julie Elliott MP

Debbie Abrahams MP

Rt Hon. Baroness Tessa Blackstone

Paul Blomfield MP

Baroness Christine Blower

Rt Hon. Ben Bradshaw MP

Deidre Brock MP

Alan Brown MP

Richard Burgon MP

Rt Hon. Alistair Carmichael MP

Joanna Cherry MP

Rt Hon. Jeremy Corbyn MP

Marsha de Cordova MP

Flick Drummond MP

Rt Hon. Baroness Frances D’Souza CMG

Lord Alf Dubs

Stephen Farry MP

Rt Hon. Lord Peter Hain

Lord David Hannay of Chiswick GCMG

Sir Mark Hendrick MP

Lord John Hendy KC

Imran Hussain MP

Baroness Meral Hussein-Ece

Baroness Barbara Janke

Kim Johnson MP

Rt Hon. David Jones MP

Afzal Khan MP

Ben Lake MP

Kim Leadbeater MP

Baroness Ruth Lister of Burtersett

Tony Lloyd MP

Caroline Lucas MP

Kenny MacAskill MP

Andy McDonald MP

Lord Mark McInnes of Kilwinning

Rt Hon. Kit Malthouse MP

Baroness Molly Meacher

Layla Moran MP

Lord Jonny Oates

Kate Osamor MP

Jess Phillips MP

Anum Qaisar MP

Yasmin Qureshi MP

Andrew Selous MP

Naz Shah MP

Baroness Shas Sheehan

Tommy Sheppard MP

Andy Slaughter MP

Zarah Sultana MP

Rt Hon. Kelly Tolhurst MP

Baroness Manzila Uddin

Rt Hon. Lord Norman Warner

Rt Hon. Baroness Sayeeda Warsi

Baroness Janet Whitaker

Dr Philippa Whitford MP

Nadia Whittome MP

 Other Parliamentarians who have signed after the letter was sent: 

Baroness Helena Kennedy of The Shaws 

Claudia Webbe MP

Olivia Blake MP